Day 6: Paleo Pre-Game Weekend!

This was quite a sports filled weekend with wins for my teams all of the country. Michigan, beating Michigan State (welcome back little brother!), the Pats beating the Jets (barely…) and the GIANTS winning game 6! Needless to say, there was a lot of eating to be done this weekend and my biggest difficulty was finding a beer substitute!

The weekend kicked off Saturday afternoon watching the Michigan game at my mom’s house. Everyone knows you can’t have a football party without food, so I figured I would bring a bunch of my own appetizers so I wouldn’t impose my new eating habits on anyone who was planing on making something.
The menu was as follows:

Bacon Guacamole Sammies

 

Bacon Guacamole Sammies My recommendation here is to make the bacon as crispy as possible and serve immediately. I made the mistake of precooking these the night before, and putting them in the fridge. The texture of the bacon wasn’t perfect so it made the sammies a little moist, which for me, is not OK with bacon.

 

Zucchini Noodles, Zoodles!

Zoodles! Delicious. This is my new go to meal whenever I am hungry because it is so easy and tastes amazing. I’m actually having them for lunch today! (I just did, they were great leftover)

Brownies! I did not add a link the recipe here, because they were terrible. I am trying to find a new one that doesn’t taste like I am eating dirt. These used avocados instead of flour and there was no added sugar, I am not sure if I am just a terrible cook, or it was the recipe. I will let you know how the next batch goes!
The Zoodles were definitely the hit of the afternoon, though the Julienne Slicer and the dedication you need to peeling 12 zucchinis is pretty intense. I did indeed slice my thumb on zucchini number 4 so Kevin had to finish the rest of the bag.

 

Bacon Wrapped Chicken Bites

On Sunday, we made more Zoodles for lunch and then had a few friends over for the Giants game. For this, I made Bacon Chicken Bites and had a Dijon Mustard as the dip (though I am not sure how Paleo the mustard is).  I found this recipe on Pintrest actually and it directed me back to another one of my favorite cooking websites, Skinnytaste.com I, being the wonderful cook that I am, forgot to turn them over halfway through the cook time and they came out a little bit dry. However they were really easy because you do not have to add anything to them, the deliciousness of the chicken and bacon can definitely stand alone.

I will admit that I cheated Sunday night. I at some Cadbury chocolate  before bed. I couldn’t help it. I am not sure how much of cheating it really is, but I thought I would be honest with all of you!

Also, as I mentioned before, beer was a difficulty for me. I do enjoy a good Lagunitas more often than not,  and when a friend came over to watch the Giants game, he of course had the delicious beer in tow. I have read the tequila is the best alcohol to have if you need to have something. This is the recipe I found that I will make sure I keep on hand!

1-2oz tequila (tequila is OK because it comes from Agave plants and does not have additives when purified)

Juice from 1 lime

Soda Water to taste.

I have yet to try this recipe out but have seen great reviews on it, which were very positive. Once I do I will take a picture for your viewing pleasure, and probably regale you with a tale of the shenanigans that ensued afterwards! Happy Monday everyone!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

