Day 1: Paleo Diet, My Journey to Greatness

I have recently come to the conclusion that 1. I need to lose weight and 2. I need a healthier lifestyle. Obviously, by recently, I mean this has been an ongoing process over the past 2 years but I just decided to get serious!

Since I have started dating my wonderful boyfriend, I have let myself slip a little bit. Dinner out, movies, just wanting to be with him and not on the treadmill has resulted in my gain of XXlbs and a more sedentary lifestyle. Not to mention I sit at a computer all day searching for new recruits, making calls, conducting interviews, going to meetings- hardly ever seeing the sun.

Awhile back I tried out Crossfit, and LOVED it. It was the best workout (next to water polo) that I have ever had. Unfortunately. if you have tried to join a Crossfit gym you will know the fees are quite a bit more than your normal gym, with prices reaching around $180 per month depending on where you go. Since I am still slightly buried in college loans, I feel guilty paying for a gym when my interest keeps compounding.

In any case, I have made a commitment to myself, that I am posting for the world to see, that I will be starting the Paleo (“Caveman!”) diet as of tomorrow in addition to a more rigorous gym routine. I have recently fallen in love with TuboKick at 24 Hour Fitness and try to go as often as possible with a self made weightlifting program as well.
Here is more information in regards to the Paleo style of diet- ”

“The Paleo Diet is an effort to eat like we used to back in the day…WAY back in the day.  If a caveman couldn’t eat it, neither can you.

This means anything we could hunt or find – meats, fish, nuts, leafy greens, regional veggies, and seeds. Sorry, the pasta, cereal, and candy will have to go!”- NerdFitness

I have posted this to invite you on my journey to a better lifestyle. This will include tips and recipes for the Paleo diet, different workouts I have completed, quotes and questions posed for motivation and my stumbles along the way, most likely to happen on my attack of the elephant you see above.

I would like to extend a HUGE thank you to a friend from high school who is ever present on Instagram posting about Crossfit and the Paleo meals she is trying out. Basically, she got me started on this idea! She has also given me the link to her website Rebelle Fitness Which has great info and definitely an enjoyable read!

So- to kick  things off, this is what I am using to get things going! thePaleoSolution

I will also be out shopping (probably to Trader Joe’s and Sprouts) for the following!:

  1. Grass fed beef
  2. Chicken
  3. Unsalted cashews/walnuts/almonds
  4. Broccoli/Spinach/Kale/Carrots
  5. Olive Oil
  6. Avocados
  7. Sweet Potatoes

Cleaning out the cupboards tonight! Wish me luck and I hope to see comments that you are jumping on board too!

Leave a Reply

